Consider this as the story of Feeder from 2002 onwards.

After the death of Jon Lee, the remaining members of the band, Grant Nicholas and Taka Hirose, took a long abscence from the music industry. Upon their return, they recorded the album Comfort In Sound, teaming up with former Skunk Anansie drummer Mark Richardson to do so. They also begun touring again after Reading Music Festival 2002, where they showcased the new material.

Comfort In Sound: Released October 21st, 2002.

  1. Just The Way I'm Feeling
  2. Come Back Around
  3. Helium
  4. Child In You
  5. Comfort In Sound
  6. Forget About Tomorrow
  7. Summer's Gone
  8. Godzilla
  9. Quick Fade
  10. Find The Colour
  11. Love Pollution
  12. Moonshine

As with every Feeder album, Grant chose to take it in a new direction, in this case removing a lot of the vocal distortion he preferred in previous albums (due to disliking how his voice sounds), as well as introducing the use of stringed instruments into some of the songs. It became one of their biggest selling albums in the UK, and singles such as "Come Back Around" and "Just The Way I'm Feeling" made it into the top 20. Although the album proved popular, some fans felt that the album wasn't as strong musically, wanting more of the old style Feeder, much rockier, even considered to be verging on grunge back in the mid 90's.

To fill in the gap left by not having any more singles to release, and no new album forthcoming for a while, Feeder released a b-side album, "Picture of Perfect Youth", which comprised of 36 of their b-sides, spread all the way from 1996 to 2003. Some of their strongest songs have been b-sides, as they allow the room for experimentation and innovation that album tracks aren't able to get away with, so to many fans, this was a chance to experience a whole new facet of Feeder's music. It was released as a double CD album as well as 3 12" vinyls.

Picture of Perfect Youth: Released August, 2004.

Disc 1:

  1. Emily
  2. Living In Polaroid
  3. Opaque
  4. The Power Of Love
  5. Broken
  6. Lose The Fear
  7. Remember The Silence
  8. Tomorrow Shine
  9. Purple
  10. Space Age Hero
  11. Can't Stand Losing You
  12. Just A Day
  13. Slowburn
  14. Elegy
  15. 21st Century Meltdown
  16. Home For Summer
  17. Here In The Bubble
  18. Forgiven
Disc 2:
  1. Feel It Again
  2. Getting To Know You Well
  3. Whooey
  4. Bullet
  5. World Asleep
  6. Rain
  7. Eclipse
  8. Oxidize
  9. Bad Hair Day
  10. Come Back Around
  11. Circles
  12. Spill
  13. Rubberband
  14. Slider
  15. Can't Dance To Disco
  16. TV Me
  17. Wishing For The Sun
  18. Undivided

Definitely an album worth checking out, just to see how Feeder have come along over 7 years of music.

Feeder had been touring on and off around the UK, as well as visiting the US during 2003, but now in 2004 they have only performed one gig, where they played two new songs: "Bitter Glass" and "Victoria". Since then they've been locked away recording their new album, now confirmed to be called "Pushing The Senses", and likely to be released towards the end of January 2005. The title of the first single has also been confirmed, "Tumble and Fall", and is likely to be released not long before the album itself.

Fans and critics alike await the new album with bated breath, and everyone hopes Feeder will enjoy success, and produce superb music for years to come.