Buddhism, especially in the Pali canon of the Theravada school loves its lists and numbers. 108 is seen as a very special one in particular, as it refers to the number of defilements to overcome to gain enlightenment, and it is derived from the following formula:

The Three Sense Experiences X The Six Senses = 18
Aversion or Craving to these experiences = 18 X 2 = 36
Past, Future, and Present incidents of aversion of craving = 36 X 3 = 108

The three sense experiences are:

  • good, ie pleasurable
  • bad, ie unpleasant
  • neutral, ie indifferent

The six senses are

(It should be noted that Buddhism considers that the mind is a sixth sense that senses thought objects.)

Temples will often have 108 steps for example, and malas (rosaries) usually have 108 beads.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.