A prize now awarded to graduate students in Mathematics, Theoretical Physics and Applied Mathematics at Cambridge University.

Robert Smith (Master of Trinity College, Cambridge), left a bequest establishing the award of two prizes annually, for proficiency in mathematics and natural philosophy. They are awarded to junior Bachelors of Arts. The prizes have been awarded every year since 1768, except for in 1917, when there were no qualified candidates.

A few of the winners of this prize include:

Sir George Biddell Airy
Arthur Cayley
Lord Kelvin
Alan Turing
Fred Hoyle
James Clerk Maxwell

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.