Petty officer describes several enlisted ranks of non-commissioned officers in the United States Navy, ranging from E4 to E9, though conventionally used for E4 to E6.

The rates are as follows:

E4 Petty Officer Third Class
E5 Petty Officer Second Class
E6 Petty Officer First Class

Higher enlisted rankings wear a different uniform altogether, and are generally addressed as "Chief" rather than "Petty Officer".

E7 Chief Petty Officer
E8 Senior Chief Petty Officer
E9 Master Chief Petty Officer

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.