The national parliament of the Republic of Ireland. It consists of two houses, Dáil Éireann (House of Representatives) and Seanad Éireann (The Senate), whose powers and functions derive from the Constitution of Ireland enacted by the People on 1 July 1937. The Houses have separate constitutional identities.

Each House of the Oireachtas has power under its Standing Orders (rules) to form Committees for specific purposes. The Houses also form Joint Committees which are Select Committees of each House sitting and voting together. Most Committees meet in public session and their proceedings are televised.

Representatives of the media and members of the public may attend.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.