b. 1945
Award winning science fiction author who has written many novels, short stories and poems. His novel No Enemy But Time won the coveted Nebula award in 1982.

If there is a recurrent theme in Bishop's novels it is anthropology. At least six of his novels deal with anthropological issues; A Funeral for the Eyes of Fire, Stolen Faces, Transfigurations, Eyes of Fire, No Enemy But Time, and Ancient of Days. The earlier novels were set on alien planets, the latter two here on earth.

Michael Bishop was born in Nebraska into a military family. He attended the University of Georgia where he earned a Masters Degree in English. He taught English at the Air Force Academy Preparatory School in Colorado Springs, CO and later at the University of Georgia.

Series - Urban Nucleus

A Little Knowledge (1977)
Catacomb Years (1979)
Under Heaven's Bridge (1980) with Ian Watson
A Funeral for the Eyes of Fire (1975)
And Strange at Ecbatan the Trees (1976)
Stolen Faces (1977)
Transfigurations (1979)
Eyes of Fire (1980)
No Enemy But Time (1982)
Who Made Stevie Crye? (1984)
Ancient of Days (1985)
The Secret Ascension: Philip K. Dick is Dead, Alas (1987)
Unicorn Mountain (1988)
Count Geiger's Blues (1992)
Brittle Innings (1994)
Blooded on Arachne (1982)
One Winter in Eden (1984)
Close Encounters with the Deity (1986)
Emphatically Not SF, Almost (1990)
At the City Limits of Fate (1996)
Time Pieces (1998) Collection of poetry.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.