Hole's second album, released in 1994. It was their commercial breakthrough, somewhat more accessible than their previous Pretty On The Inside. It's unsurprising that the two records sound different, since only two members of the band are on both records. The band's sound seems to have been influenced by the success of the grunge bands who became popular between the albums, but it still keeps a raw feel.

Live Through This was also unfortunately given publicity by death: Hole singer Courtney Love's husband Kurt Cobain's body was found four days before the record was released, and two months after it came out, bassist Kristen Pfaff was found dead of a heroin overdose. It's almost surprising, listening to some of these songs, that they weren't written after all that; the pain and anger in them come through and give them power.

Live Through This contains:

  1. Violet (Hole)
  2. Miss World (Hole)
  3. Plump (Hole)
  4. Asking for It (Hole)
  5. Jennifer's Body (Hole)
  6. Doll Parts (Hole)
  7. Credit in the Straight World (Moxham)
  8. Softer, Softest (Hole)
  9. She Walks on Me (Hole)
  10. I Think That I Would Die (Bjelland/Hole)
  11. Gutless (Hole)
  12. Rock Star (Hole)

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.