The Court of Colonial Affairs under the late Ming Dynasty and Ch'ing Dynasty in imperial China. It was founded in 1638 to deal with relations with Manchuria, Korea, Russia, and Tibet, and gradually grew to deal with foreign relations in general. It served as an office directly under the control of the Emperor, but was run by a President and two Vice-Presidents, who were always Manchurian, except for a rare occasion when a highly respected Mongolian would be appointed. Chinese were largely barred from holding the office.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.