Actually the Indianapolis Motor Speedway is within Indianapolis, because the town of Speedway is surrounded on all sides by Indianapolis.

On January 1, 1970, the Indiana General Assembly annexed all of Marion County to create the Consolidated City of Indianapolis (aka Unigov). Four preexisting cities were excluded: Speedway, Lawrence, Southport and Beech Grove. Now all four of them are entirely contained within Indianapolis, much like Vatican City is entirely within Rome, Italy.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.