General name for several islands in the South Indian Ocean which are territories of France, along with "Adelie Land," the French-claimed portion of Antarctica. Sometimes referred to as "French Southern Territories," especially by those who don't recognize the French claim to any of Antarctica. Also referred to as "French Austral and Antarctic Territories," another translation of the French "Terres australes et antarctiques françaises."

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.