Clwyd was one of the new Welsh administrative counties that came into being in 1974 as a result of the Local Government Act 1972 and was formed from the union of the historic counties of Denbighshire and Flintshire. It was unique, in that it was the only one of the new Welsh counties created at the time that was not named after an ancient Welsh kingdom, but was instead named after the river Clwyd.

Clwyd survived for twelve years until its abolition in 1996 when it was divided back into Denbighshire and Flintshire, with the addition of the new unitary authorities of Wrexham and Conwy, leaving the two old counties with a reduced area of authority compared to their historic predecessors.

Clwyd survives as one of the Preserved Counties of Wales.

Table of References

  • ?

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.