Sister cities which lie on either of the Murray River, Albury and Wodonga (1996 combined population: 57,251) straddle the border between New South Wales and Victoria, Australia. Albury lies on the north bank of the Murray River and is 604 km from Sydney. Wodonga, on the south bank, is 300 km from Melbourne.

The cities are linked by the Union Bridge and are the site of a government decentralisation project begun in 1973. The Hume reservoir, about 16 km to the east, is an important link in the Murray River irrigation scheme.

Albury was established in 1839 as a police base to protect travellers, and to prevent convicts from escaping across the border into Victoria. Wodonga, founded in 1852, was a Victorian customs station for many years before the Federation of Australia.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.