In 1994, Tim Kellet (of Simply Red), Robin Taylor-Firth (of Nightmares on Wax), and Ruth-Ann Boyle got together and started the trip-hop band Olive. In 1995 they released a single, You're Not Alone, with RCA Records. After almost a year, it was #1 on British charts. Worldwide, it sold 500,000. Their second single, Outlaw, was not as successful, but made it to the top 20 in Britain.

In 1996, they released their debut album Extra Virgin. It made #15 on the UK charts, and contained their third single, Miracle. Though it only made #41 on the Miracle, was on the soundtrack of the major motion picture Sliding Doors, Olive's first movie deal.

In 1998, Robin Taylor-Firth left Olive, and the band left their label. RCA Records. The remaining members of the band began work on their second album, Trickle. Trickle bore two singles. The first was cover of 10cc's I'm Not in Love, featured on the major motion picture The Next Best Thing, released in 2000. The second was Smile, released in 2001.

Trickle (2000)
  1. Love Affair
  2. Trickle
  3. I'm Not in Love
  4. Smile
  5. All you Ever Needed
  6. Indulge Me
  7. Speak to Me
  8. Liberty
  9. Push
  10. Trust You
  11. Creature of Comfort
  12. Beyond the Fray

Extra Virgin (1996)
  1. Miracle
  2. This Time
  3. Safer Hands
  4. Killing
  5. You're Not Alone
  6. Falling
  7. Outlaw
  8. Blood Red Tears
  9. Curious
  10. You Are Nothing
  11. Muted
  12. I Don't Think So