The Colossus and Other Poems is a collection of poems by Sylvia Plath and was published in 1960 by Faber & Faber (UK) and HarperCollins (US). The copyright is still held by Faber & Faber (UK) & HarperCollins (US).

The 96 page book is a wonderful taste of Sylvia Plath's typical work. The collection is a comprehensive overview of her entire life's work. So, you get the entire idea of how she writes in this particular book.

    The Colossus
      "... Perhaps you consider yourself an oracle,
      Mouthpiece of the dead, or of some god or other.
      Thirty years now I have labored
      To dredge the silt from your throat.
      I am none the wiser.
      Scaling little ladders with glue pots and pails of Lysol
      I crawl like an ant in mourning
      Over the weedy acres of your brow
      To mend the immense skull-plates and clear
      The bald, white tumuli of your eyes.

      A blue sky out of the Oresteia
      Arches above us. O father, all by yourself
      You are pithy and historical as the Roman Forum.
      I open my lunch on a hill of black cypress.
      Your fluted bones and acanthine hair are littered

      In their old anarchy to the horizon-line.
      It would take more than a lightning-stroke
      To create such a ruin.
      Nights, I squat in the cornucopia
      Of your left ear, out of the wind,

      Counting the red stars and those of plum-color.
      The sun rises under the pillar of your tongue.
      My hours are married to shadow.
      No longer do I listen for the scrape of a keel
      On the blank stones of the landing."
    ~Sylvia Plath
The book also includes the following titles:

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.