Second album by Beck, consisting of low fidelity home recordings and live performances made from 1988 to 1993, and released in 1994 on Flipside Records. Track lengths vary between 5 seconds and 20 minutes.

Preceeded by the jarring rock of Mellow Gold, and followed by the dissonant texture folk of One Foot in the Grave, Stereopathetic Soul Manure careens between blues, scream-metal, and country, simultaneously mastering and subverting each style. That is to say, Beck uses traditional tools to make a wildly experimental album. Or, a boring, unlistenable, grating, unfocused, silly, annoying, and dumb album, depending on the way you listen to it. There is no standout, "Loser"-type radio single on this album, and the ommission feels intentional. Apocalyptic hillbilly hyms alternate with heavy metal distorted guitar noise reveries alternate with sweet juevenile ballads about vomit alternate with answering machine samples alternate with hilarious spoken tracks. Much of the singing is carried out in the sarcastic falsetto that Beck would later revisit on the album Midnite Vultures. While inscrutable, Beck is clearly having a fantastic time on this anti-concept album.

Band members: Tracklist:
  1. Pink Noise (Rock Me Amadeus)
  2. Rowboat
  3. Thunder Peel
  4. Waitin' For A Train
  5. Spirit Moves Me, The
  6. Crystal Clear (Beer)
  7. No Money No Honey Pt. 1 (hidden track)
  8. No Money No Honey Pt. 2
  9. 8.6.82
  10. Total Soul Future (Eat It)
  11. One Foot In The Grave
  12. Aphid Manure Heist Pt. 1
  13. Aphid Manure Heist Pt. 2 (hidden track)
  14. Aphid Manure Heist Pt. 3 (hidden track)
  15. Today Has Been A Fucked Up Day
  16. Rollins Power Sauce
  17. Puttin It Down
  18. 11.6.45
  19. Cut 1/2 Blues
  20. Jagermeister Pie
  21. Ozzy
  22. Dead Wild Cat
  23. Satan Gave Me A Taco
  24. 8.4.82
  25. Tasergun
  26. Modesto
  27. (Hidden track)
  28. (Hidden track)
  29. (Hidden track)

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.