A masterpiece of jazz arrangement by the inimitable trombonists J.J. Johnson and Kai Winding. Their challenge was to arrange an album of 12 jazz standards for an ensemble of eight trombones plus a rhythm section. The trombone section was filled out by six of the best trombonists in New York at the time, and this, along with some skillful scoring on the part of Jay and Kai allowed some truly amazing sounds to be recorded. Sometimes the ensemble sounds as though it were divided between trumpets and trombones; at other times it sounds as though a saxophone section snuck into the recording unannounced. J.J. and Kai each have some truly spectacular solos, at times switching instruments to play twin tromboniums, a sort of a cross between a valve trombone and a euphonium.

J.J. Johnson and Kai Winding: Jay & Kai + 6 / The Jay and Kai Trombone Octet
Released October 17, 1956 on Columbia Records.


  1. Night in Tunisia
  2. Piece for Two Tromboniums
  3. Rise 'N' Shine
  4. All At Once You Love Her
  5. No Moon At All
  6. The Surrey With The Fringe On Top
  7. The Peanut Vendor
  8. You're My Thrill
  9. Jeanne
  10. Four Plus Four
  11. You Don't Know What Love Is
  12. The Continental

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.