This is an album where John Coltrane was pushing the envelope that he had set with A Love Supreme. Trane expands his quartet to add saxophonist Pharoah Sanders and drummer Rashied Ali.

Track Listing:
1. The Father And The Son And The Holy Ghost
2. Compassion
3. Love
4. Consequences
5. Serenity

The most controversial track on this album is easily the first. Sanders is loud and it's easy to get turned off by just hearing the honking, screeching cacophonous noise. This album as a whole certainly takes a lot of listening to dig, but it's a good introduction to post-ALS Trane.