An oath sworn by in investiture into an office. Typically politicians and politically appointed senior civil servants must swear an oath of office.

The oath is effectively a loyalty oath to the government or the governmental institutions, including clauses about upholding the constitution (USA) or loyalty to the Queen Britain/New Zealand.