One of the three major political parties in Australia, the other two being the National Party and the Australian Labor Party (or ALP). Tony Abbott, the Prime Minister of Australia, is a member of the Liberal Party. The Liberal Party ally with the conservative National Party to form the Coalition. See Australian Politics