Telford United

Telford United Football Club was originally set up in 1873, when the Wellington Parish Church Institute that was created a year earlier set up its football team.
The 'PCI' changed its name to Wellington Town in 1879 however, and then in 1969 changed its name again to Telford United, when the new town of Telford was designed.

These are the names of the players that play for the club in alphabetical order:

Mark Albrighton
Jim Bentley
Kevin Davies
Paul Edwards
Edwards Jake
Gary Fitzpatrick
Lee Fowler
Gary Hanmer
Kevin Jobling
Jordan King
Gary Martindale
Neil Moore
Paul Moore
Steve Palmer
Nick Porter
Roger Preece
Mark Quale
Richard Scott
Peter Smith
Ashley Wooliscroft

The team is managed by Jake King, their scout is Charlie Walker and the physio is named Andy Rose.

Club Honours:

Birmingham League Champions:- 1920/21; 1934/35; 1935/36
Cheshire League Champions:- 1945/46; 1946, 47; 1951, 52
Edward Case Cup Winners:- 1952/53, 1954/55
Welsh Cup Winners:- 1901/02; 1905/06; 1939, 40
Walsall Senior Cup Winners:- 1946/47
Shropshire Senior Cup Winners:- 34 times (up to 1993)
Southern League Cup Winners:- 1970/71
FA Trophy Runners Up:- 1969/70; 1987/88
FA Trophy Winners:- 1970/71; 1982/83; 1988/89

FA Cup Successes:

2nd Round proper:- 1982/83; 1985/86; 1991/92
3rd Round proper:- 1986/87
4th Round proper:- 1983/84
5th Round proper:- 1984/85

The club was nicknamed The Lilywhites until the 99/00 season when it was changed to The Bucks. They play home games at New Bucks Head in Telford - a stadium with a capacity of 8775 (2510 seated) and a pitch that is 110 x 75 yards. Their record attendance is 13000 and was against Shrewsbury Town in 1935. They are currently in the Football Conference and finished in 9th position in the 01/02 season, missing out on an LDV Vans Trophy qualification by 2 places.

Telford play their home games in red shirts with blue trim, blue shorts and red socks. Their away kit consists of white shirts with black trim, black shorts and white socks with black trim.