The Granadine Confederation ruled over present-day Colombia and Panama from 1858 to 1861, and was their first experiment in federalism. It was divided into eight states: Antioquía, Bolívar, Boyacá, Cauca, Cundinamarca, Istmo, Magdalena, and Santander.

Before 1858, the country was known as the Republic of New Granada: in 1861, it became the United States of New Granada, which was quickly succeeded by the United States of Colombia.

The Confederation had two presidents: Mariano Ospina Rodríguez, who became president of New Granada in 1857 and ruled unti April of 1861, and Bartolomé Calvo y Díaz de Lamadrid. Both were backed by the Social Conservative Party.

The flag consisted of vertical fields of red, blue, and yellow, with a white eight-pointed star on the blue field.

Nowadays, coins and postage stamps from the Granadine Confederation are very valuable collectors' items.