The nominal Hindu scriptures, composed in the hoary past in a language called Vedic Sanskrit. Some say 25000 BCE, others 1200 BCE. Traditionally believed to be the breath of the eternal and to predate the world. Divided into 4 major books by the sage Vyaasa: Rig, Sama, Yajur, and Atharva. Each of these books is also divided between Mantras, Brahmanas, Aranyakas, and Upanishads. Most Hindus know nothing from any of them, except maybe that they exist.