An album by The Kinks, good natured, intelligent humour from Ray Davies. Here Ray released another concept album. The Kinks thought this would be their last album together, yet thanks to Ray's genius, the album emerged as one of The Kinks most accomplished records.

A heavily orchestrated album that can be defined as theatre nearly (in fact Davies wrote, directed and acted in a play with the same name, in which he gets trapped as a boring guy in a dull life). The album hits many aspects of the dullness of everyday life in boring people, the nine to five guys.

Track List

  • 1. Everybody's A Star (Starmaker)
  • 2. Ordinary People
  • 3. Rush Hour Blues
  • 4. Nine To Five
  • 5. When Work Is Over
  • 6. Have Another Drink
  • 7. Underneath The Neon Sign
  • 8. Holiday Romance
  • 9. You Make It All Worthwhile
  • 10. Ducks On The Wall
  • 11. Face In The Crowd, A
  • 12. You Can't Stop The Music
  • 13. Everybody's A Star (Starmaker) - (mono)
  • 14. Ordinary People - (previously unreleased, live)
  • 15. You Make It All Worthwhile - (previously unreleased, live)
  • 16. Underneath The Neon Sign - (previously unreleased, live)