The full name of one of the original 13 founding United States known as Virginia. Virginia is known as the Old Dominion and is bordered by Delaware, North Carolina, Ohio, Kentucky, Maryland, Tennessee, Washington DC and West Virginia. The FIPS PUB 6-1 abbreviation, otherwise known as the postal abbreviation for Virginia is VA. The state flower and state tree are the Dogwood. Unique among most states is the provision that every city in the Commonwealth is an independent city, and is not part of a county.

Major Cities in Virginia include Alexandria, Fairfax, and Fredericksburg in Northern Virginia; Roanoke, Staunton, and Winchester, in the Shenandoah Valley region; Colonial Beach in the Chesapeake Region; Norfolk, and Williamsburg, in the Tidewater/Hampton Roads Region; Charlottesville, Lynchburg, and the State Capital in Richmond in Central Virginia.