The Jainist concept of karma is like Hindu karma in that they are related both to one's situation and actions and also to their effects in one's life.

Jainism has eight different flavors of karma:

Mohaniya (delusion)
Jnana-varaniya (knowledge)
Darasna-varaniya (vision)
Antaraya (natural qualities)
Nama (body)
Ayu (lifespan)
Gotra (social standing)
Vedniya (pleasure and pain of the body)

They are all related to the soul. Jainism refers to destroying one's karmas in order to proceed towards perfect knowledge, power, and bliss, eventually becoming a God. In destroying the first four karmas, one uncovers the natural qualities of one's soul; the last four are related to the body of the soul. Those who destroy all eight karmas are called Siddha.

One can destroy only the first four karmas and still (or already) become a God, being called Arihantra. This is known as attaining keval-jnana. If one then establishes a Jainist religious order, one becomes a Tirthankara, also known as a Jina or Nirgrantha; otherwise one is simply "ordinary-kevali." The founder of Jainism, Mahavira, was a Tirthankara.