Canadian politician, former Prime Minister from 15 November 1948 - 21 June 1957

Louis St. Laurent was Canada's 12th Prime Minister, and served after World War II. He was born in 1882 in Compton, Quebec and was Canada's second Quebec born PM. In 1949 he instituted the Trans Canada Highway act, brought Canada into NATO, and welcomed Newfoundland as a new province into Canada. He served from 1948 until he was succeeded by John Diefenbaker in 1957.

Previous Prime Minister: William Lyon Mackenzie King (1948)
Next Prime Minister: John Diefenbaker (1957)