As well as the board game, Chess is the title of a musical by Tim Rice (of partnership with Andrew Lloyd Webber fame), Benny Andersson and Bjorn Ulvaeus (the two guys from Abba). First performed in 1984 with the following principal singers:

The musical tells the story of the nameless World Chess Championship protagonists The American and The Russian, and The American's aide Florence. A somewhat bitter diatribe on love and relationships rendered with Tim Rice's trademark witty lyrics, some of the topical content of the storyline may have dated in these halcyon post-perestroika days, but the music remains fresh and inspiring. In addition, the points made---especially in the second act---about the nature of relationships are eternal. But then I may be just bitter and cynical.

The following songs are included in the score:

Act One:

  1. Merano
  2. Where I Want To Be
  3. Opening Ceremony
  4. Quartet (A Model of Decorum and Tranquility)
  5. Nobody's Side
  6. Mountain Duet
  7. Florence Quits
  8. Embassy Lament
  9. Anthem

Act Two:

  1. One Night in Bangkok
  2. Heaven Help my Heart
  3. Argument
  4. I Know Him So Well
  5. The Deal (No Deal)
  6. Pity the Child
  7. Endgame
  8. Epilogue: You and I/The Story of Chess