Not that I want to criticise the CIA or something, but... [Note: This has been corrected in the 2002 version of the Factbook.]

The Austrian "permanent neutrality" is not actually part of the State Treaty (Staatsvertrag). It is a seperate federal constitutional law that was passed after the withdrawal of the Allied troops.

The time table goes like this:

  • April 15, 1955: Memorandum of Moscow -- Austrian government delegation commits to the
    neutrality of Austria after the Swiss model. This in turn made possible the
  • May 15, 1955: Signing of the State Treaty, which became effective on
  • July 27, 1955.
  • September 19, 1955: the last russian soldier leaves Austria.
  • October 25, 1955: the last Allied troops (british) leave Austria.
  • October 26, 1955: the actual law stating the "permanent neutrality" ("immerwährende Neutralität") is passed.
This has one major consequence: Austria does not need the consent of the signing parties of the State Treaty to repeal this law.