Smallfilms, the production company founded by Oliver Postgate and Peter Firmin, in 1958, is responsible for some of the best-loved and most peculiar British Children's television ever made.

At any given time, in any English pub, there's a good chance that you will over hear a conversation about one of these television shows.

Smallfilms Filmography

The Journey of Master Ho
A set of silent films for the deaf, telling the story of a small chinese boy and his buffalo, animated on a willow pattern background

Ivor the Engine (32 episodes)
The tales of Ivor and friends in the top left-hand corner of Wales

The Saga of Noggin the Nog (30 episodes)
The adventures of a decent viking prince, and his not-so-decent Uncle

Pingwings (32 episodes)
Small penguin like creatures that lived in Peter Firmin's barn.

The Seal of Neptune and The Mermaids Pearls (12 episodes)
The adventures of a shrimp and a seahorse.

The Pogles and Pogles Wood (32 episodes)
The story of woodland folk, who lived in a tree with a magic bean plant

Little Laura (18 episodes)
Made for Violet Drummond. The story of a posh little girl with a mouflon hat

The Clangers
The legendary stories of littlemouse-like creatures that lived on a small moon. The first colour productions by Smallfilms.

Bagpuss (13 episodes)
A saggy old cloth cat with magical powers who lived in a shop full of lost things.

Ivor the Engine (40 episodes)
The original stories of Ivor and friends, remade in colour, along with some new films.

The Saga of Noggin the Nog (6 films)
Two more stories about Noggin, also in colour. One is a remake of Noggin and the Ice Dragon, the other a new one: Noggin and the Pie.

1980 What-A-Mess
Made for Frank Muir. The tale of an Afghan hound puppy

The Story of a Doll's House. Made for Rumer Godden. Said to be the only children's story with a murder in it.

Pinny's House Made for Peter Firmin
A tale of two tiny pin-sized dolls who lived on the mantlepiece.