Dyfed was one of the new Welsh administrative counties that came into being in 1974 as a result of the Local Government Act 1972 and was formed from the union of the historic counties of Pembrokeshire, Carmarthenshire and Cardiganshire, and named after the former medieval Welsh kingdom of that name.

Dyfed survived for twelve years until its abolition in 1996 when it was divided back into its former constituent counties, although Cardiganshire has subsequently renamed itself as Ceredigion.

Dyfed survives as one of the Preserved Counties of Wales.

Table of References

  • http://www.gazetteer-wales.co.uk/admin.htm
  • http://www.gazetteer-wales.co.uk/counties.htm
  • ?