TV series are often divided into seasons - however, in the UK, they are called series. Many confusions arise between terminology of this type, including:

  • US "season" = UK "series"
  • US "series" = UK "show" or "series"
  • US "show" (when not used for its British meaning) = UK/US "episode"

The term "season", when it is used in the UK, is usually used either:
  1. when the TV series in question is American, or
  2. for disambiguation purposes, e.g. the classic episodes of Doctor Who are season 1-26, but new episodes (after the revamp) start at series 1, which is season 27.