(Hinduism: Vaishnavism)

The calendar of the Vaishnavas is a lunar one, based on the lunar calendar of the Hindus. Following Gaudiya Vaishnava tradition, the years are counted from the appearance of Lord Sri Krishna's incarnation as Lord Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu. Lord Caitanya is also known as Gaura, so the year is called "Gaurabda", "the year of Lord Caitanya."

Each month, or "masa," is known by a name of Vishnu. The months, the Sanskrit names by which they are commonly known in India, and their rough equivalents according to the Gregorian calendar are listed as follows: