South Africa recently adopted a new national motto as part of its new coat of arms. It is !Ke e: /xarra //ke, which means "different people unite" in the extinct /Xam language.

They are renaming some of their metropoles or municipalities. Durban becomes eThekwini, Pretoria becomes Tshwane, and Port Elizabeth becomes Nelson Mandela Metropole. There is no official new name for Johannesburg yet, but the Zulu name Egoli is one being considered.