The Faroe Islands (Danish: Færøerne, or "Sheep Islands") are an island group of 22 islands (18 inhabited) in the North Atlantic, between the Shetland Islands and Iceland. They are nominally under the Danish Crown, but have been self-governing since 1948, when the Faroes' official status was changed from "county of Denmark" to "self governing community within the Kingdom of Denmark".

Of the 18 inhabited islands, the chief ones are Strømø, Østerø, and Vågø; chiefly hilly, the terrain -- whilst breathtaking -- limits agriculture to sheep raising, and the production of hay and potatoes. Fishing and fish processing are also important. The coastal cliffs provide nesting sites for large numbers of sea birds, such as puffins, fulmars and kittiwakes, and inland one can find great skuas, ducks and species of wading birds. Land mammals are mainly cattle and sheep, and trees are virtually non-existent, partly due to the large numbers of sheep. Therefore, the classic image of the islands -- underrated -- is of bare grassy hill-sides soaring out of the sea.

The islands have come under criticism in recent years for the traditional grindadráp, or pilot whale culling.

The capital is Tórshavn, and the chief language spoken is Faroese (q.v.), though Danish has equal status in official matters.