When L. Frank Baum died in 1920, Reilly & Lee, his publisher, continued the Oz series, releasing a new book each year until the 1940's. There are more post-Baum works than Baum works, but because they were published by Reilly & Lee they are considered "canonical" or "official" Oz books. Many of these official authors, or "Royal Historians of Oz," also released "non-canonical" Oz books through other publishers, once Reilly & Lee discontinued the series.

Ruth Plumly Thompson

John R. Neill Jack Snow Rachel R. Cosgrove Eloise Jarvis McGraw and Lauren McGraw Wagner