The monetary unit of Peru. It is divided into 100 centimos.

Originally introduced in 1874, replacing the peso, it was divided into 100 centavos. Between 1985 and 1991 it was replaced by the inti, but in that year hyperinflation forced another currency reform, and the sol was reintroduced.

The plural is soles. The symbol is S/., as in S/. 5.00.

The "currencyist" account does not want to collect XP; please don't waste a downvote.