The Telugu script is a South Indian script used to write the Telugu language of Andhra Pradesh state in India, as well as minority languages such as Gondi (Adilabad and Koi dialects) and Lambadi.

Telugu is rendered much like Tamil. Take note that, unlike Tamil, the Telugu script writes conjunct consonants with subscripted letters. There are also numerous consonants with contextual shape changes when used in conjuncts. Some vowel signs also change their shape in specified combinations.

U+0C55    Telugu length mark   is provided as an encoding for the second element of the vowel U+0C47    Telugu vowel sign ee. U+0C56    Telugu ai length mark   is provided as an encoding for the second element of the surroundrant vowel U+0C48    Telugu vowel sign ai. The length marks are both nonspacing characters.

Unicode's Telugu code block reserves the 128 code points from U+0C00 to U+0C7F, of which 93 are currently assigned.

Tamil <-- Telugu --> Kannada

Number of characters added in each version of the Unicode standard :
Unicode 1.1 : 80
Unicode 5.1 : 13

Number of characters in each General Category :

Letter, Other            Lo : 54
Mark, Non-Spacing        Mn : 14
Mark, Spacing Combining  Mc :  7
Number, Decimal Digit    Nd : 10
Number, Other            No :  7
Symbol, Other            So :  1

Number of characters in each Bidirectional Category :

Left To Right       L : 72
Non Spacing Mark  NSM : 14
Other Neutral      ON :  7

The columns below should be interpreted as :

  1. The Unicode code for the character
  2. The character in question
  3. The Unicode name for the character
  4. The Unicode General Category for the character
  5. The Unicode Bidirectional Category for the character
  6. The Unicode version when this character was added

If the characters below show up poorly, or not at all, see Unicode Support for possible solutions.



     Based on ISCII 1988

U+0C01   ఁ   Telugu sign candrabindu Mc L 1.1
aka arasunna
U+0C02   ం   Telugu sign anusvara Mc L 1.1
aka sunna
U+0C03   ః   Telugu sign visarga Mc L 1.1

     Independent vowels

U+0C05   అ   Telugu letter A Lo L 1.1
U+0C06   ఆ   Telugu letter aa Lo L 1.1
U+0C07   ఇ   Telugu letter I Lo L 1.1
U+0C08   ఈ   Telugu letter ii Lo L 1.1
U+0C09   ఉ   Telugu letter U Lo L 1.1
U+0C0A   ఊ   Telugu letter uu Lo L 1.1
U+0C0B   ఋ   Telugu letter vocalic r Lo L 1.1
U+0C0C   ఌ   Telugu letter vocalic l Lo L 1.1
U+0C0E   ఎ   Telugu letter E Lo L 1.1
U+0C0F   ఏ   Telugu letter ee Lo L 1.1
U+0C10   ఐ   Telugu letter ai Lo L 1.1
U+0C12   ఒ   Telugu letter O Lo L 1.1
U+0C13   ఓ   Telugu letter oo Lo L 1.1
U+0C14   ఔ   Telugu letter au Lo L 1.1


U+0C15   క   Telugu letter ka Lo L 1.1
U+0C16   ఖ   Telugu letter kha Lo L 1.1
U+0C17   గ   Telugu letter ga Lo L 1.1
U+0C18   ఘ   Telugu letter gha Lo L 1.1
U+0C19   ఙ   Telugu letter nga Lo L 1.1
U+0C1A   చ   Telugu letter ca Lo L 1.1
U+0C1B   ఛ   Telugu letter cha Lo L 1.1
U+0C1C   జ   Telugu letter ja Lo L 1.1
U+0C1D   ఝ   Telugu letter jha Lo L 1.1
U+0C1E   ఞ   Telugu letter nya Lo L 1.1
U+0C1F   ట   Telugu letter tta Lo L 1.1
U+0C20   ఠ   Telugu letter ttha Lo L 1.1
U+0C21   డ   Telugu letter dda Lo L 1.1
U+0C22   ఢ   Telugu letter ddha Lo L 1.1
U+0C23   ణ   Telugu letter nna Lo L 1.1
U+0C24   త   Telugu letter ta Lo L 1.1
U+0C25   థ   Telugu letter tha Lo L 1.1
U+0C26   ద   Telugu letter da Lo L 1.1
U+0C27   ధ   Telugu letter dha Lo L 1.1
U+0C28   న   Telugu letter na Lo L 1.1
U+0C2A   ప   Telugu letter pa Lo L 1.1
U+0C2B   ఫ   Telugu letter pha Lo L 1.1
U+0C2C   బ   Telugu letter ba Lo L 1.1
U+0C2D   భ   Telugu letter bha Lo L 1.1
U+0C2E   మ   Telugu letter ma Lo L 1.1
U+0C2F   య   Telugu letter ya Lo L 1.1
U+0C30   ర   Telugu letter ra Lo L 1.1
U+0C31   ఱ   Telugu letter rra Lo L 1.1
U+0C32   ల   Telugu letter la Lo L 1.1
U+0C33   ళ   Telugu letter lla Lo L 1.1
U+0C35   వ   Telugu letter va Lo L 1.1
U+0C36   శ   Telugu letter sha Lo L 1.1
U+0C37   ష   Telugu letter ssa Lo L 1.1
U+0C38   స   Telugu letter sa Lo L 1.1
U+0C39   హ   Telugu letter ha Lo L 1.1

     Addition for Sanskrit

U+0C3D   ఽ   Telugu sign avagraha Lo L 5.1

     Dependent vowel signs

U+0C3E   ా   Telugu vowel sign aa Mn NSM 1.1
U+0C3F   ి   Telugu vowel sign i Mn NSM 1.1
U+0C40   ీ   Telugu vowel sign ii Mn NSM 1.1
U+0C41   ు   Telugu vowel sign u Mc L 1.1
U+0C42   ూ   Telugu vowel sign uu Mc L 1.1
U+0C43   ృ   Telugu vowel sign vocalic r Mc L 1.1
U+0C44   ౄ   Telugu vowel sign vocalic rr Mc L 1.1
U+0C46   ె   Telugu vowel sign e Mn NSM 1.1
U+0C47   ే   Telugu vowel sign ee Mn NSM 1.1
U+0C48   ై   Telugu vowel sign ai Mn NSM 1.1
U+0C4A   ొ   Telugu vowel sign o Mn NSM 1.1
U+0C4B   ో   Telugu vowel sign oo Mn NSM 1.1
U+0C4C   ౌ   Telugu vowel sign au Mn NSM 1.1

     Various signs

U+0C4D   ్   Telugu sign virama Mn NSM 1.1
aka halant (the preferred name)
U+0C55   ౕ   Telugu length mark Mn NSM 1.1
U+0C56   ౖ   Telugu ai length mark Mn NSM 1.1

     Historic phonetic variants

U+0C58   ౘ   Telugu letter tsa Lo L 5.1
U+0C59   ౙ   Telugu letter dza Lo L 5.1

     Additional vowels for Sanskrit

U+0C60   ౠ   Telugu letter vocalic rr Lo L 1.1
U+0C61   ౡ   Telugu letter vocalic ll Lo L 1.1

     Dependent vowels

U+0C62   ౢ   Telugu vowel sign vocalic l Mn NSM 5.1
U+0C63   ౣ   Telugu vowel sign vocalic ll Mn NSM 5.1


U+0C66   ౦   Telugu digit zero Nd L 1.1
U+0C67   ౧   Telugu digit one Nd L 1.1
U+0C68   ౨   Telugu digit two Nd L 1.1
U+0C69   ౩   Telugu digit three Nd L 1.1
U+0C6A   ౪   Telugu digit four Nd L 1.1
U+0C6B   ౫   Telugu digit five Nd L 1.1
U+0C6C   ౬   Telugu digit six Nd L 1.1
U+0C6D   ౭   Telugu digit seven Nd L 1.1
U+0C6E   ౮   Telugu digit eight Nd L 1.1
U+0C6F   ౯   Telugu digit nine Nd L 1.1

     Telugu fractions and weights

U+0C78   ౸   Telugu fraction digit zero for odd powers of four No ON 5.1
U+0C79   ౹   Telugu fraction digit one for odd powers of four No ON 5.1
U+0C7A   ౺   Telugu fraction digit two for odd powers of four No ON 5.1
U+0C7B   ౻   Telugu fraction digit three for odd powers of four No ON 5.1
U+0C7C   ౼   Telugu fraction digit one for even powers of four No ON 5.1
U+0C7D   ౽   Telugu fraction digit two for even powers of four No ON 5.1
U+0C7E   ౾   Telugu fraction digit three for even powers of four No ON 5.1
U+0C7F   ౿   Telugu sign tuumu So L 5.1
Some prose may have been lifted verbatim from,
as is permitted by their terms of use at