1998- The first Major League Baseball franchise in the state of Arizona. Opening day was March 31, 1998 in Bank One Ballpark in Phoenix, AZ. They are a National League expansion team. It was the brainchild of Jerry Colangelo who also brought the Phoenix Suns to the valley. In 1999, Randy Johnson signed a four year contract and came to Phoenix In four short years, the team went from throwing their first pitch to winning the World Series. First they won the National League Divisional Series against the Atlanta Braves. Then they won the World Series against the New York Yankees with a spectacular run in the bottom of the ninth inning during the seventh game. This can be described as a squeaker. They were led to victory by the rookie manager Bob Brenly. The Most Valuable Player award for the series was shared by pitchers Randy Johnson and Curt Schilling. Other notable members of the Championship team include: