This is going to be nit-picky, but hell, it's a nit-picky game.

There were a few rules ommissions from the previous writeup:

Any ball that is pocketed on a non-legal stroke or on a shot where the called ball is not pocketed is immediately spotted. There is neither penalty nor point for this action.

When a player has the cue ball in the kitchen (behind the head string - in the two back dots - whatever you call it) and all numbered balls are also in the kitchen (making them illegal targets) the player may elect to spot the numbered ball nearest to the head string.

Any player may choose to make a safety shot as a defensive measure. That player's turn will end immediately at the end of the safety shot, any balls pocketed are not scored and are then spotted.

One correction or rather clarification... According to the Standardized World Rules of 1997:

On all shots, a player must cause the cue ball to contact an object ball and then (1) pocket a numbered ball, or (2) cause the cue ball or any numbered ball to contact a cushion. Failure to meet these requirements is a foul.

This is a frequently misinterpreted rule, and an important one. In order for the cue ball to count as contacting the cushion for the purpose of a shot not being declared foul, it must first contact an object ball. You can't simply hit the cue ball into a rail in order to avoid penalty and damage your opponent's position.

Ouroboros: Well... in terms of finding it, I first looked under Straight Pool, since that's what I've always referred to it as... the game gets called at least a dozen different things but professionally at least they call it 14-1... I suppose it's spelled 14.1 but I never knew that until I went to look it up this afternoon...

...and sure, you can bounce the cue off the rail when you're breaking to nestle it into the pile - as long as at least 2 of the numbered balls hit a rail afterwards... it's the same Ball-Rail rule that exists for table scratches in 8-Ball