Country bordering Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, the Democratic Republic of the Congo (in the middle of Lake Tanganyika), Zambia, Malawi and Mozambique. Includes the island of Zanzibar, among other offshore islands. Contains Mount Kilimanjaro, the highest point in Africa. The people are mostly different tribes of Bantu. As "Tanganyika," it was a United Nations territory administered by the United Kingdom which became independent in 1961; Zanzibar became independent in 1963 and united with Tanganyika in 1964; shortly thereafter the country was renamed to its current name.