Group of widely spread, very remote islands in the south Atlantic Ocean, about midway between South America and Africa (there are more than 700 miles between some of these islands). This overseas territory of the United Kingdom contains the islands of Ascension, St. Helena (where Napoleon was exiled after his final defeat), Gough Island, Inaccessible Island, Nightingale Island, and Tristan da Cunha, often considered to be the remotest island on Earth.