The Seven Principles of Kwanzaa

Created in 1966 by Maulana (Ron) Karenga, Kwanzaa is a seven-day cultural observance for those of African descent. Strict rules do not apply to this holiday, instead folks are urged to add personal touches and focus on inner talents. Karenga named seven principles meant to guide reflection during this celebration. Families are urged to share stories illustrating unity, self-determination, collective work and responsibility, cooperative economics, purpose, creativity and faith.

Kwanzaa literally means "first fruits of the harvest," and it is meant to be a joyful, reflective time of soul-searching.

  1. Unity (Umoja)

  2. Self-determination (Kujichagulia)

  3. Collective work and responsibility (Ujima)

  4. Cooperative Economics (Ujamaa)

  5. Purpose (Nia)

  6. Creativity (Kuumba)

  7. Faith (Imani)

Info from API/cnn