Who are they?

Hailed by the media as nu-metal, Lostprophets are a band with far more musical influence behind them than most. Each member of the Welsh sextet comes from a different musical background, from emo to metal, post hardcore to breakbeat. They originally formed in 1997, a group of friends tired with the same old sound of the 'Alternative' scene.

Signed under Visible Noise in Europe, and Columbia Records in America, Lostprophets have been taking in rage reviews on both sides of the Atlantic. They are determined to prove to the world that there are talented bands in Britain. Lostprophets have already become the recipients of two awards, and have been referred to as "the new sound". The band has already supported others such as Pitchshifter, Deftones and Linkin Park.


Ian Watkins: Vocals
Mike Lewis: Guitar
Lee Gaze: Guitar
Stuart Richardson: Bass
Mike Chiplin: Drums
Jamie Oliver: Decks


2002 NME Carling Awards: Best Metal Act
2001 Kerrang! Awards: Best British Newcomer


Title: The Fake Sound Of Progress (LP)
Release Date: October 2000

  1. Obscure Intro
  2. Shinobi Vs. Dragon Ninja
  3. The Fake Sound of Progress
  4. Interlude
  5. Five Is A Four Letter Word
  6. and She Told Me To Leave
  7. Interlude
  8. The Handsome Life of Swing
  9. Interlude
  10. For Sure
  11. Kobrakai
  12. Still Laughing
  13. A Thousand Apologies
  14. Interlude
  15. Awkward
  16. Ode To Summer

NOTE: This album was re-released a year later without the "Obscure Intro" and "Interlude" tracks.


Title: Shinobi Vs. DragonNinja
Release Date: November 2001 (UK)


  1. Shinobi Vs. DragonNinja
  2. Directions
  3. The Lesson Part 1


  1. Shinobi Vs. DragonNinja
  2. Still Laughing (Live)
  3. Miles Away From Nowhere


  1. Shinobi Vs. DragonNinja
  2. Miles Away From Nowhere


The name 'Lostprophets' comes from the title of a Duran Duran bootleg live album that Ian has.

'Shinobi Vs. DragonNinja' comes from an argument the band had over which game was better.