A Major League Baseball tradition, the Home Run Derby takes place on the day before the mid-season baseball All Star Game. Both the National League and American League's top 4 home run hitters participate in the event. Each man gets a 10 "out" buffer. You receive an "out" when you hit a ball and it ISN'T a home run (even foul hits count). A pitcher selected by the hitter throws balls according to how the batter likes it. If the batter doesn't hit the ball, then it isn't an "out". In the first round, the top 4 home run hitters advance to the next round. Ties are broken by taking total home runs for the season in consideration. The advancing batters are paired off in a mini-bracket based on the number of home runs they hit. Two batters advance to the third and final round, where a champion is crowned.

Through 1990, the Derby was a 2 inning event, with 5 "outs" per player. Since 1991, the rules have been changed as outlined above. Also, some of the older derbies did not have 4 players per league.

The record for number of home runs in a single round was set this year (2001) by Jason Giambi of the Oakland Athletics with 14.

Home Run Derby Winners:
1985 - Dave Parker, Cincinnati Reds
1986 - Darryl Strawberry, New York Yankees
1987 - Andre Dawson, Chicago Cubs
1988 - Cancelled due to rain
1989 - Eric Davis, Cincinnati Reds
1990 - Ryne Sandberg, Chicago Cubs
1991 - Cal Ripken, Baltimore Orioles
1992 - Mark McGwire, Oakland Athletics
1993 - Juan Gonzalez, Texas Rangers
1994 - Ken Griffey Jr., Seattle Mariners
1995 - Frank Thomas, Chicago White Sox
1996 - Barry Bonds, San Francisco Giants
1997 - Tino Martinez, New York Yankees
1998 - Ken Griffey, Jr., Seattle Mariners
1999 - Ken Griffey, Jr., Seattle Mariners
2000 - Sammy Sosa, Chicago Cubs
2001 - Luis Gonzalez, Arizona Diamondbacks
2002 - Jason Giambi, New York Mets