One of the NHL's Original Six, the Boston Bruins play hockey in the Atlantic Division and Eastern Conference (formerly the Adams and Wales, before the American bastardization of the sport). Famous Bruins include Eddie Shore, John Bucyk, Bobby Orr, Terry Sawchuk, Gerry Cheevers, Phil Esposito, Ray Bourque, and Cam Neely. In total, 39 Bruins are enshrined in hockey's Hall Of Fame, a number second only to the Montreal Canadiens and Toronto Maple Leafs. They have won a total of five of Lord Stanley's cups, in 1929, 1939, 1941, 1970, 1972.

Until the opening of the FleetCenter, the Bruins played in historic Boston Garden, home to the Boston Celtics.