The Buddha taught that human beings have six means of obtaining sensory input, and he named these collectively the Six Sense Doors. They are:
  1. The Eyes (Visual)
  2. The Ears (Aural)
  3. The Body (Tactile)
  4. The Nose (Olfactory)
  5. The Tongue (Tasty!)
  6. The Mind (Thought & Emotion)

It is interesting see that the Buddha did not view thoughts and emotions as our own, but rather, as things to be percieved.