United States | Wisconsin | Door County

County in northeast Wisconsin, USA, encompassing the Door Peninsula between the Bay of Green Bay and Lake Michigan. If you pretend your left hand is a map of Wisconsin, Door county would be your thumb. It borders only Kewaunee County to the south.

The biggest industries of Door County is tourism. The summer and autumn population is probably three times the winter population, with half of those visitors being from Illinois. The other main industry is horticulture: mainly the cultivation of cherries and apples.

It is a very beautiful and scenic area, and one should visit during the winter months (provided the roads are clear) when there are no tourists.

The county seat is Sturgeon Bay; other major communities include Brussels, Fish Creek, Egg Harbor, Ephraim, Sister Bay, Bailey's Harbor, and Washington Island.

Population (1999): 27,079
Area: 482.7 sq. mi.
Formed: 1851 out of Brown County

See also: Wisconsin Metanode