One of the nine schools of ninjutsu, founded by Uryu Gikanbo, the Daimyo of Kawachi Castle, and a master of Hichojutsu and Senban Nage.

This ryu taught "from this side there is not the first strike".

Not much is known about it since not a great deal is taught in the west, and many of the kamae appear to be off balance unless practiced a hell of a lot. In fact, the school is so secretive that even the makimono (Scrolls) of the school do not mention how to perform the techniques, the entire range is taught orally.


  1. Uryu Hangan Gikanbo (1558-1570)
  2. Uryu Yoshimitsu (1573-1592)
  3. Uryu Yoshimori (1624-1644)
  4. Uryu Yoshichika (1661-1673)
  5. Uryu Yoshitaka (1688-1704)
  6. Uryu Yoshihide (1751-1764)
  7. Uryu Yoshimori (1789-1801)
  8. Uryu Yoshiaki (1830-1844)
  9. Uryu Yoshiyasu (1861-1864)
  10. Uryu Gikan (1865-1868)
  11. Ishitani Takeoi Masatsugu (approx. death 1905)
  12. Ishitani Matsutaro Takekage (approx. death 1911)
  13. Takamatsu Toshitsugu b. 1887 - d. 1972
  14. Akimoto Fumio (approx. death 1962)
  15. Hatsumi Masakki b. 1931

Note: This list is under contention. There are some parties that believe a different list is correct, naming Sato Kinbei as the current Soke.

Information source: Paul Richardson