Grunge rock band consisting of Dave Johnstone (vocal, guitar),Simon Hensworth (bass guitar), Alan Balmont (drums) and (later) Phil Natt (guitar,keyboards). Formed in Perth, Western Australia around 1992 as Fuzzwirl, before changing their name and getting signed up by Sony. Was voted by Rolling Stone magazine as best new act for 1996.

Their albums included In A Box (1994), Sleepwalking (1995), Mint 400 (1995) and Eleventh Avenue (1998)

Ammonia broke up in 1999.