The Horror Writers Association (HWA) is a worldwide organization of writers and publishing professionals dedicated to promoting the professional interests of those who write horror and dark fantasy.

Members receive a newsletter and e-mail bulletins in addition to gaining access to market information, discounts on books, and details about literary agents and publishers. Members can also receive legal advice in the event they run into trouble with a publisher or plagiarist.

The active membership of the HWA is responsible for voting on and awarding the Bram Stoker Award every year.

The HWA was formed in the 1980s with the help of many of the horror genre's top writers, including Joe Lansdale, Robert McCammon, and Dean Koontz. The HWA now has members throughout the United States, Canada, South America, the Caribbean, Europe, and Australia.

The HWA has a site at